Just another WordPress.com site

Shells

I’ve always liked shells.  When I was a kid I liked to put them against my ear and “listen” to the ocean.  I also just love the beach in general…

You’re probably wondering why I was just talking about shells or have a picture of shells.  I talk about them because I’m constantly trying to come out of my shell as a freshman in college.  I’ve had a lot of “firsts” within the past week, and the list keeps growing.  On Friday night I went to Hutzel and played Texas Hold’em for the first time, and I actually did pretty well.  Saturday I went to Barnes and Noble and finished “Blue Like Jazz” in 2 sittings, which was my first time finishing a 240 page book at Barnes and Noble (I will buy the book eventually though because it was amazing).  Last night I drove through downtown Fort Wayne for the first time.  Tonight I’m going to my first dance.  I’ve been doing a lot of fun stuff over the past week.

I will admit, I have trouble trying new things sometimes.  Like everyone else at times, I get self concious and fear that I will look stupid doing something I’ve never tried before.  I just worry too much sometimes.

I challenge anyone reading this to do 1 thing this week that you’ve never done before.  It doesn’t have to be something huge, just something to get you out of your comfort zone a little bit and to broaden your horizons.  Who knows, you might like the activity or meet new people.

5 responses

  1. Ash

    Great! I’ve gotta come out of my shell too and become a teenager as thats what i am now!

    January 31, 2011 at 11:34 am

  2. USF Sarah

    Thanks for the comment Ash! I’m glad to see that there are people reading my blog! And I agree, the teenage years are a great time to come out of your shell because it will help your transition to adulthood. Good luck!

    February 1, 2011 at 2:35 am

  3. pink-soda

    ..be adventurous sarah!! but not too much, be careful still.. but you should enjoy your college life! Its way fun than high school!

    February 27, 2011 at 3:20 pm

    • USF Sarah

      Thanks! I’m trying to be more adventurous, but not too crazy. I also realized how much better college was than high school within the first few weeks!

      March 1, 2011 at 5:16 pm

  4. This is my first time to read your blog and I love it. I am also a shell lover too. http://mydreambeach.blogspot.com/2010/10/shell-beach-sonoma-ca-usa.html

    May 2, 2011 at 4:45 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.